Ashland University president Carlos Campo

Ashland University president Carlos Campo.

ASHLAND – Ashland University President Dr. Carlos Campo will be inducted into the new class of Ohio Commodores on June 21 at the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium.

Membership in the executive order of the Ohio Commodores is only possible through appointment by Ohio’s Governor in recognition for outstanding contributions to the economic development in their communities as well as the state of Ohio. It is considered Ohio’s “most distinguished honor.”

Ohio Commodores club logo

Dr. Campo had multiple nominations, including one from Grove City Mayor Ike Stage, an AU alumnus and Ohio Commodores member. 

The Association of Ohio Commodores is a non-profit, non-partisan organization of active and retired business professionals of more than 250 men and women who have received the Executive Order of the Ohio Commodore.

Members include government officials such as members of the Governor’s Cabinet; distinguished university professors and administrators; leaders of trade associations and economic development organizations; and senior executives of large, medium and small manufacturers from across Ohio in a wide variety of industries.

Membership offers a number of benefits, including:

Opportunities to gain an understanding of — and advance — key State of Ohio Administration initiatives that can positively impact Ohio and its citizens.

Opportunities to further develop leadership skills and strengthen relationships with a regional and statewide network of Ohio Commodore members similarly devoted to service to the State.

Opportunities to support business investment decisions, i.e., qualified leads of foreign or domestic businesses considering relocation that will create jobs in Ohio.

Opportunities to support international endeavors that strengthen Ohio by participating in trade missions, or through support of international delegation visits.

Unique opportunities to develop a relationship with members of the Governor and Lt. Governor’s Administration, Cabinet members, the Ohio Congressional delegation, and business leaders whom are inducted as Ohio Commodores.