Ashland County Office Building

Ashland County Office Building 

ASHLAND - A Perrysville village council candidate and a Hillsdale school board candidate have been disqualified from the races for their desired offices. 

The Ashland County Board of Elections met Aug. 12 to review petitions and officially qualify candidates for the November 5 general election ballot. 

The board disqualified Lonnie Harris II from the Perrysville council race due to a "fatal error" on his petition," board of elections director Shannon Johnson said. 

According to Johnson, Harris left blank the required circulator statement at the bottom of his petition.

"Without that circulating statement, we have no way of knowing who circulated the petition and who witnessed the signatures," Johnson said.  

Only one other candidate had filed for the two open seats on the village council by the Aug. 7 deadline. 

Hillsdale Local Schools board of education candidate Joshua Hlavaty was disqualified from the ballot for lack of sufficient signatures on his petition. 

Hlavaty's disqualification leaves John Cutlip and Amy Jarvis unopposed in their bids for school board seats in the district. 

Candidates disqualified after a regular filing may not file as write-ins, according to Johnson. 

The filing deadline to file as a write-in candidate is Aug. 26. Write-in candidate forms may be obtained from the Ashland County Board of Elections or The Ohio Secretary of State’s website. There are no signature requirements, but there is a filing fee.

A complete list of local candidates for the 2019 general election in Ashland County can be downloaded below. 

Support Our Journalism

Our content is free and always will be - but we rely on your support to sustain it.